Intro to the Blog

Hello everyone!

This is my very first foray into the world of blogging, and I am excited to take a crack at it. Initially, this blog was created to fulfill a course requirement for my Master’s in English; however, I have always been drawn to the idea of starting a blog for like-minded people like me.

So what is the purpose of my blog? Well, if you have read the “About” section about me, then you will know that much of my drive and passion for life stems from my love of reading. If I lived in a perfect world, I would either reside at the library in Hogwarts, or in the castle library in the world of Beauty and the Beast.

Pretty much anything like this:

books, library, royal

Ever since I can remember, I was infatuated with reading and listening to my dad tell me bedtime stories. For years I made sure that it was a nightly tradition to listen to at least one of my favorite books (even if I almost always fell asleep before the end). I attribute my love of reading to my parents, not because they were avid readers themselves, but because they were adamant about buying books instead of toys, and filling our bookshelves to the brim with these treasures (one of my all-time favorite books was A Job for Wittilda). I only recently learned that my mom, a mother to five screaming kids all in close age range, falsely told Scholastic that she was a home-school teacher so that she could receive the Scholastic magazine at home (and receive the teacher discount for books…).

Well, thanks to my lying mom, I have read more books than I can count or even remember. And so my purpose for this blog is to discuss books, articles, theories, arguments, and current events that interest me, hoping to create a discussion with like-minded people. I know that this sounds like a monstrous task, seeing as there is all sorts of information that could be discussed in a blog; however, I am going to try and limit my blogs to discussions that relate to books (either old or new) and how they come up in discussion in our current social, political, and cultural climate. It does not take long to come up with several examples of how books (even older ones) still come up in modern conversations (The Handmaid’s Tale, To Kill a Mockingbird, and The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn).

Most of what will be written in my blog posts will be my opinion; however, I do not believe that I cannot be swayed one way or another. There are always things that I missed or failed to consider, but I will do my best to view all sides of a matter before flying off the handle. So, I hope that my blog will be a positive feature and a space where others feel free to express their own opinions and arguments.

Happy reading!

Renée

 

One thought on “Intro to the Blog

Leave a Reply

